Controlling 70+ LEDs with UNO R3

Hi, I'm new here. I'm a beginner in Arduino and in electronics. In fact I even haven't got Arduino yet, because I'd like to have at least an idea what to buy.

I'd like to create a clock that will show time using leds - 12 leds for hours and 60 for minutes. Something like this(click).

I've got a question - is it possible to build a ciruit from that drawing:

with UNO R3?
Thanks

Take a look at this post - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,117117.0.html

The answer to your question is Yes.
I will post a link to a method to do what you are envisioning, let me do a quick search...

This design will control 64 LEDs. You need 72. So what you can is add additional banks of LEDs, and control additional transisitors with a shift register instead. Or a shift register with high current sinking capability, such as TPIC6B595, and skip the transistors.
Take it a step further, and drive the anodes from 2 shift registers, and free up IO pins for buttons for setting time, retrieving time from an Real Time Clock chip, etc.

Thanks for replies, I'll try to understand these things now :grin:
As I understand, method posted by CrossRoads won't need printing my own PCB?

Another couple of options would be to use either 2x MAX7219/MAX7221 chips or 4x WS2803 chips.
If you don't want to fade individual LED's (just turn them on/off) and they are single colour (not RGB) then the 2x MAX7219's will drive 128 LED's (64 LED's per chip). If you want to fade individual LED's then 4x WS2803 chips will drive 72 LED's (18 LED's per chip).
You don't need to create a circuit board as you could mount the LED's in some form of frame (wood/plastic with drilled holes) and run (a lot of) wires to a small protoboard with the chips on. The problem would be accurately drilling 72 holes for the LED's unless you have access to a CNC mill.

Correct, you would not need to make a PCB.
Arrange the LEDs in a couple of circles and start wiring.