Arduino LED Clock

Hey,
I’m new at Arduino and plan on building a LED clock running on Arduino. Could someone please guide me to the process on building it. I got the basic idea of programming in Arduino and got decent experience in C/C++. I understood the code for blinking LEDs but if i want the LEDs to increment their position as hour is incremented and i’m stuck, how do i make only certain leds to increment their positions which is connected to a single port on the Adruino uno. I’m a Computer Science student and pretty weak at electronics hence the trouble :P. Thank you in advance.
Attached image is the general idea of the LED clock… Hours in the inner circle lit up by leds on a stencil, Minute on the extreme and days in the intermediate. Thank you :slight_smile:

Untitled.png

Start by looking at shift registers. A good start is here: http://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11518

How many LEDs total and in each ring? If the total is over around 8 you will need to multiplex. There are many ways to multiplex LEDs. Shift registers are a popular method and there are a lot of tutorials on using them.

groundfungus: How many LEDs total and in each ring? If the total is over around 8 you will need to multiplex. There are many ways to multiplex LEDs. Shift registers are a popular method and there are a lot of tutorials on using them.

The hour part got 12 LEDs and the Minutes is 60 LEDs :P . How do I code the arduino to increment the hour position if its connected to single Port on the arduino uno?

79 mono-color LEDs? Use max7219 (basically 8 shift registers in one package) to drive 64 LEDs, add 2 shift register for the last 8 and the 7 days. Or 5 WS2803 with 18 outputs, have 8 bits of brightness control per output. Or 79 WS2812 daisy chained, for RGB color at each location. Or ... The time & day tracking part is pretty straightforward.