Controlling Multiple Digital Potentiometers

I have an Arduino Uno and a Mega.
I'm relatively new to Arduinos so I'm still learning the ways around them. I'm working on a project where I want to output various different resistance values using digital potentiometers. The purpose of this is to output pairs of unique resistance values. If possible, I want to control as many digital potentiometers as possible (analog potentiometers would be inconvenient since I'll be needing to change the resistance values relatively frequently).

I've looked up the two methods that are used to with digital potentiometers: I2C and SPI.

The I2C method uses the AD5171 which outputs one resistance value. From the Arduino website, it says that 2 of these potentiometers can be used (not sure how. by using unique addresses?). Would it be possible to use more than 2 of these digital potentiometer.

The SPI method uses the AD5206 which "has six variable resistors (potentiometers) built in for individual electronic control." (does this mean I can have 6 different resistance values from one AD5206?).
The problem with this is that I'm using SPI to load an array of resistance values from an SD card (using SD card module). Worst case, I can manually fill in the array in the program but I'd have to enter hundreds of entries...
For some reason, the website to the link isn't working so I read an archive of the page.

https://web.archive.org/web/20170816063456/https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/DigitalPotControl

I've read about digital potentiometers but I have never had experience with them. Any help would be appreciated.

The problem with this is that I'm using SPI to load an array of resistance values from an SD card (

Only at the beginning of the program?

Perhaps you should google I2C and SPI and learn a bit about what each is and how they work. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised to find out that you can share between the SD card and the 6-way digitpot.