Costume Light Project Timed to Music

This is my first Arduino/electrical project, but I have a lot of experience making all kinds of stuff and some pretty in-depth coding work... just not using Arduino. I have done a lot of research to prepare for this, but would love some insight and direction!

THE PROJECT: I am adding lights to a dance costume. Obviously it needs to be battery operated. I plan to run individually addressable lights off of 4 pins, with each pin controlling 8-12 lights. When the lights are turned on via the switch on the battery pack, they will run through a simple loop, allowing the lights to be a part of the costume when not dancing. When a button is pressed, the lights will run through a 2 minute sequence, the length of the song, that will create the effect we want through the dance routine. I plan to place a button on the costume that can be pressed on a specific beat in the beginning of the dance so that the code will run in time with the song. When the sequence is over, it will return to the initial loop.

CAVEAT: I want to prevent any accidental button pressing while dancing from messing with the lights, but I also want a way to override the sequence in order to return to it's initial loop, ready to begin again. My plan is to use 2 buttons. Button A starts the dance routine sequence. Once started, if either button A or B are pressed, nothing happens. To exit the sequence, both buttons must be pressed at the same time. I would have no trouble coding an app with this sort of logic, so I assume this is possible and, with some diligence, I can figure it out on Arduino. Let me know what you think.

SET-UP: My primary questions right now are in regard to set up. I have attached my wiring layout, and I'd really appreciate confirmation or advice on my approach. I also have a few questions: