Data Lookup from ADC Data

Ok .. here is the scenario, and I am an Arduino newbie but I have been a coder guy for some time.

What I have is a device that I am getting data from (voltage data) to the Arduino Analog A0 port. So I get a value in the range of 0 to 1023 from the Arduino.

But here is my issue ... for each of those 1024 items I have a corresponding other value I need to look up. For example (and these are fake numbers) I just need to find the best way to code this lookup part.

So it would be something like this with 1024 items.

ADC, Raw Data

ADC 0, 7 ACD 1, 10 ADC 2, 14 ADC 3, 17

ADC 1022, 822 ADC 1023, 825

So I need to look up the Raw Data part for the corresponding ADC value ?

I do not have live true data for possibly a few days (likely at least Friday) but the concept is exactly the same as above. I am expecting the raw data values to be in the range from 20 to 140 but do not know yet.

So what is the best way .. Arduino wise to get the data ?

I should note that I only need to display the data to my LCD screen once a second. So I will get the ADC value once a second and look up the Raw Data at that time and display it.

Thanks Kevin

If the data is linear, consider using map()

output = map( ADCCount, 0, 1023, 20, 140 );

If it’s non-linear you could create a smaller table using a best-fit method and use linear interpolation, such as:

const int DataArray[64] = 
    {
        0, 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70,
        80, 90, 100, 110, 120, 130, 140, 150,
        160, 170, 180, 190, 200, 210, 220, 230,
        240, 250, 260, 270, 280, 290, 300, 310,
        320, 330, 340, 350, 360, 370, 380, 390,
        400, 410, 420, 430, 440, 450, 460, 470,
        480, 490, 500, 510, 520, 530, 540, 550,
        560, 570, 580, 590, 600, 610, 620, 630        
    };

int
    ADCValue;

void setup()
{
    Serial.begin(9600);
    ADCValue = 0x0000;

}//setup

void loop()
{
    int
        nIdx,
        nFrac,
        nOutput;
    int
        tblVal1, tblVal2;