Debugging Questions

Hi, I have been using Arduino for small projects for a couple of years. My "debugging" method has been serial.Print() :frowning:

I have just installed the new Beta IDE 2 and the live debug looked interesting, I have a MKR Zero board. Can debugging be used on this board as is, or is more hardware required e.g Black Magic Probe or similar. Are there any tutorials that explain the setup so that debugging can be used, I have searched (obviously not too well) and found nothing so far.

Thanks

Hello @ex-egll.

ex-egll:
I have just installed the new Beta IDE 2 and the live debug looked interesting

It really is a cool thing. I've been doing a lot of beta testing of the new IDE, including the debugger, and have had tons of fun playing around with the debugger.

ex-egll:
I have a MKR Zero board. Can debugging be used on this board

Yes. There is out of the box support for any of the active Arduino SAMD boards (the retired M0 is not supported).

ex-egll:
as is, or is more hardware required e.g Black Magic Probe or similar

A debug probe is required to use the hardware debugging capability. Only the Arduino Zero has a built-in debug probe on the board. When using any other board, including the MKR Zero, you will need to attach a debug probe.

The Black Magic is a nice option, but you can use any CMSIS-DAP compliant debugger you like. I use this little open source debugger:

You can also use the Segger J-Link line of debuggers, but these are not CMSIS-DAP compliant so it does require some special setup to make them work. Information about that here:

Except for the MKR WiFi 1000, the Arduino SAMD boards don't have the standard 0.05" pitch 2x5 SWD header, which makes connecting a debugger a little difficult. On the bottom of the other MKR boards there is a footprint for a 0.1" pitch 2x3 SMD header (e.g., https://www.digikey.com/short/z3dvdv):
MKRZero_labeled.jpg