Decoding bit Patterns

Hello all,

I'm new to Arduino, and as part of a project I've written a small sketch that allows me to use the serial monitor to input a character, have it transmit on the RX connection then transmit back on the TX connection.

The program is working as intended, and I can capture the waveforms, but I have no idea how to decode what I'm seeing.

Are there any resources for this topic?

The attached photo is the captured waveform when I input a 5 into the serial monitor. I just don't see how this bit pattern represents a 5.

You are looking at a 0-5 V TTL level (inverted) RS232 ASCII character.

Look up "RS232 serial protocol" keeping in mind that this was developed many decades ago, typically using -12V and +12V signal levels.

Also look up ASCII character table to see how 5 is encoded.

And be aware that the serial monitor adds a line-end sequence when you send - you can change this
to no-line-ending if you want just a single ASCII character to be sent.

Thank you everyone, I didn't realize it was being sent as an ASCII character, which has the value of 53, and there is indeed a new line character at the end as well.

Took a while to figure it out, but it makes sense now.

s9acasl:
Thank you everyone, I didn't realize it was being sent as an ASCII character, which has the value of 53, and there is indeed a new line character at the end as well.

Took a while to figure it out, but it makes sense now.

++Karma; // Well done for figuring that out, it's a common misunderstanding here not appreciating the difference between a variable stored as binary and the same number converted to ASCII for transmission to a display or other device.

I used a UART for my senior project at DeVry where I used a very expensive ATE custom metal keyboard bought
from a surplus store (because it looked so cool with multicolored keys) but discovered that all the key codes