detecting airflow in a HVAC duct

Hello,

I am new to the arduino world and embarking on a new project. My goals is to detect airflow in my home's HVAC duct in a cheap way so I know reliably that the heating/cooling is currently running.

I have looked online but they all talk about expensive anemometers that actually "measure" volume of air moving. I DO NOT need to measure any thing. I just need to detect when significant air is flowing for a certain period of time. (several seconds)

My idea is to place a cheap CPU fan inside the duct and detect when it is turning (which tells me that the air is flowing).

Is that the right approach? How do I detect the fan turning using arduino. Any ideas are welcome.

Thanks

Fike

A pressure sensor inside the duct should measure a significant increase when the circulator fan is on. This one is very sensitive and easy to use, but may need to be temperature compensated.

A thermistor would detect whether warmer or colder air is present, and would be much simpler and cheaper.

Why not just detect when power is applied to the blower motor?

Connect this to the blower motor, with the output to an Arduino with input pullup resistor.
Output goes low when AC power is present.
AC_loss.jpg

yes, I had read about tapping into the blower motor earlier in my research.

But I want to keep this assembly close to a window in my house and not where the furnace is. There is a vent opening right above the window. The idea is that whenever airflow is detected in/near that vent (or inside the duct where the vent is),

"AND"

the window is open (which I will detect with a reed switch), the system will send me a text message alert.

This will allow me to turn off the heating/cooling remotely with my phone. (I have a smart thermostat installed)

It has happened to me many times when I leave the house for work in the morning with the window open and come back later in the evening with heating/cooling running full force and that window open. >:(

Thanks