Detecting cellphone proximity

Hi, first post and i’m quite new to arduino as well.
I’m doing a project where I need to trigger a servo motor when a cellphone enters to a radius of 5 meters from it. My guess is that I need a sensor that can detect the RF of the phone, and I know that these kind of devices exist, but is there any way that I can get my hands on this type of sensor and would Arduino work with it?

Hi, I've recently built a cell-phone detector with the Arduino. Of course it can only detect the cell-phone when it is actively transmitting. It the person is not making a phone call, it will usually not trigger the detector.

I used the Linear Technology LT5534 power detector. You can get free samples of their chips from the LT web site. I have built the reference circuit in the datasheet and conneted the output of the detector to an analog input of the board.

Obviously, there is a lot of RF signals being detected, such as bluetooth, WLAN and so on, so you need to detect a characteristic pattern of the phone. I'm not sure how universally valid this is, but some experiments learned that because of the TDMA acces, it shows small pulses of about 500 microseconds once every +/- 5 milliseconds. I wrote the software to trigger detection after seeing three such pulses. I you want I can look up the code.

The detector works quite well up to 7 meters or so at home (but this may depend on the environment of course).

Regards, Marc

If you want to detect specific cellphones and they have Bluetooth enabled, then using a Bluetooth arduino may be an easy way to do what you want. It would enable you to detect any Bluetooth cellphone in range or any specific phone based on mac address.