Detecting code of IR remote

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to arduino and coding so the question may seem very naive
I'm trying to find the code my IR remote send when I press a button. I'm using this remote, and plugged it following the recommandation of the manufacturer
https://www.reichelt.com/fr/en/arduino-8211-infrared-remote-kit-ard-ir-remote-p282671.html?CCOUNTRY=443&LANGUAGE=fr&GROUPID=9020&START=0&OFFSET=16&SID=9259b0282e3b16a34ecf307921d1950c07626fe55dca53095ed02&LANGUAGE=EN&&r=1

I've tried several codes for it, the one that works best is :

#include <IRremote.h>

int RECV_PIN = 11;

IRrecv irrecv(RECV_PIN);

decode_results results;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  irrecv.enableIRIn(); // Start the receiver
}

void loop() {
  if (irrecv.decode(&results)) {
    Serial.println(results.value, HEX);
    irrecv.resume(); // Receive the next value
  }
  delay(100);
}

But when I go to "serial monitor" and press any button it always send me the code "FFFFFFFF". I read that it is because the button has been pressed for too long, but I don't think so

Do you have any idea of how to solve it ?

By advance, thank you ! :slight_smile:

The code you have shown here is just the sample code of that kit (anyway, it's a generic code for IR signal analyse) so it should work. I don't know if that specific remote sends FFFFFF as the "repeat" signal like some other remotes do, but at least the first line (the first time you press a button) it should print a specific code, to be "repeated" when receiving FFFFFF.

What exact version of IRremote library you have? Have you tried one of the examples (like ReceiveDump)?

This is an NEC remote.

Try

#include <IRremote.h>

int RECV_PIN = 11;

IRrecv irrecv(RECV_PIN);

decode_results results;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  if(results.value != 0xFFFFFFFF)
   {
   }
  }
  delay(100);
}

Always show us a good schematic of your proposed circuit.
Show us a good image of your ‘actual’ wiring.