Driving a 6V DC motor with a Motor Shield

Hey guys,

Beginner here, so please excuse any stupid questions. :-/ I just finished assembling the motor shield kit from Adafruit. I'm trying to get a 6V DC motor running. I've read the tutorial on using it but there are just a few things I am confused about. It says to use two external power sources (one for the Arduino, and one for the motor) for best performance. I am using a 9V power supply to power the Arduino, but I am not sure what to use to power the DC motor. The Adafruit site says this:

If you would like to have 2 seperate DC power supplies for the Arduino and motors. Plug in the supply for the Arduino into the DC jack, and connect the motor supply to the PWR_EXT block. Make sure the jumper is removed from the motor shield.
If you have a Diecimila Arduino, set the Arduino jumper to EXT. This is a suggested method of powering your motor project!

I am wondering about what type of power supply to use. It also says this:

the EXT_PWR terminals on the shield do not have a protection diode (for a fairly good reason). Be utterly careful not to plug it in backwards or you will destroy the motor shield and/or your Arduino!

What does it mean that it does not have a protection diode? Does this mean I can only use an exact 6v power supply? Again, I am sorry for such basic questions. I am still in the process of learning.

I have also seen a picture where the motor shield has a servo, dc motor, and a stepper all plugged in and the only power supply is connected into the Ardunio DC jack. What power supply would this be possibly with? Again, I am only trying to power a 6v DC motor, so could I potentially just use a 9v power supply plugged into the DC jack to power the Arduino and the DC motor?

Thanks in advance for the help!

A diode allows current to flow in only one direction. The Arduino does have diodes on the input lines, so it you connect the power supply backwards, no current flows, and the Arduino is unharmed.