Driving stepper motor with Arduino and L293D

Hello to all the Arduino community!

I am totally new to the Arduino world, and I find it absolutely amazing! (I am a total newbie in electronics for now but would like to learn more about it!)

I just recently started a small Arduino project whose goal is to simply drive a stepper motor : Stepper Motor: Bipolar, 200 Steps/Rev, 35×36mm, 2.7V, 1 A/Phase (https://www.pololu.com/product/1209) using a L293D motor controller, and a remote power supply source (http://fr.rs-online.com/web/p/alimentations-enfichables/7066524/) for the motor.

Here is a small scheme of the setup :

The code that I am using to drive the motor was borrowed from a tutorial that I found on the net :

#include <Stepper.h>

const int stepsPerRevolution = 512; // change this to fit the number of steps per revolution
// for your motor

// initialize the stepper library on pins 8 through 11:
Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 8,9,10,11);

void setup() {
// set the speed at 60 rpm:
myStepper.setSpeed(10);
// initialize the serial port:
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
// step one revolution in one direction:
Serial.println("clockwise");
myStepper.step(stepsPerRevolution);
delay(500);

// step one revolution in the other direction:
Serial.println("counterclockwise");
myStepper.step(-stepsPerRevolution);
delay(500);
}

The issue I have is that when I load the code to the Arduino, plug the power supply, I can only see a slight movement of the rotor back and forth, but no complete rotation movement... I guess that it's a power issue? I am using a 24V, 1A power supply.

But since I'm only a beginner in the field I can't really figure out the problem... Would you mind helping me out?

Your power supply is not strong enough for that motor. If each phase draws 1A, that's 2A for both phases.

Even if stepper motors should be supplied more than the nominal voltage, 24V looks too high to me. How do you control the motor current? How hot becomes the L293D?