EMG amplifier/AD8402 controlling problem

Hello! First time posting here. I am a beginner when it comes to electronics and I have to work on a project that requires a lot of Arduino knowledge. I want to create an EMG amplifier using this schematic (the first one is the original one - Figure 8 Nerve Impulse Amplifier and the second one is the one that I am using, instead of the Rg I added the digital potentiometer AD8402 because it is a must to have an automation part - I have to control the digipot through Arduino, while the rest of the circuit is powered by 2 +9V batteries).

My teacher told me to put a 1k braking/brake resistor in series with the 2 Rgs from the LT1167 (I wish I knew why lol), like this
My problem is that I have no idea what code should I use to control the AD8402 digipot, which pins (both from AD8402 and Arduino) should I use for the code. I found these 2 codes but apparently they are for AD8403.

1. /*
    Digital Pot Control

This example controls an Analog Devices AD8403 digital potentiometer.
The AD8403 has 4 potentiometer channels. Each channel's pins are labeled
A - connect this to voltage
W - this is the pot's wiper, which changes when you set it
B - connect this to ground.

The AD8403 is SPI-compatible. To command it you send two bytes.
The first byte is the channel number starting at zero: (0 - 3)
The second byte is the resistance value for the channel: (0 - 255).

The AD8403 also contains shutdown (SHDN) and reset (RS) pins. The shutdown
pin disables all four of the potentiometers when taken low and enables all
pots when high. The values of the pots can be adjusted while shutdown is active.
The reset pin sets all of the pots back to their center value when taken low.
Reset may or may not be useful for your particular application. In this circuit
reset is simply tied to +5v to keep it inactive.

The circuit:

• All A pins of AD8403 connected to +5V
  • All B pins of AD8403 connected to ground