ESP8266 web page programming

I am quite new to programming the ESP8266. before anypone points it out, I do plan to port my code to the newer ESP32 when I get one to develop with, but for now the ESP8266 is the only development hardware I have to work with.

On the ESP8266 I now have WiFi configured and a basic html page being returned on request from a browser. The basic function to return a html page was pulled from a tutorial example and uses snprintf to generate the HTML and place it into a character buffer. The HTML can include variables inserted into the HTML stream. The buffer is then sent using a server.send() command. All this works nicely and I can incorporate data e.g. such as firmware version or IP address of the AP into the web page. I also have a second function that returns a CSS styling page in response to a CSS link embedded into the HTML document. At this point, I have no plans to include an Javascript but to control all functions from the sketch. Not sure how this will work out yet, but I'm trying to keep it simple, but make it look professional.

I have designed a configuration page on my PC which I would now like to get programmed onto the ESP8266, but I have run into an interesting problem. A typical config web page body might broadly consist of:

• a header section and a div containing some kind of navigation which is consistently shown on each page
  • a body div which will display different configuration options depending on the navigation option chosen
  • a footer section which may contain the authors name, version number, date etc. which again is displayed consistently on every page

Currently I have plans to provide 4 separate configuration pages by function group:

• Page 1: general options such as AP or station mode and enabling/disabling options
  • Page 2: WiFi configuration including IP address, gateway and mask, as well as wifi security
  • Page 3: configuration parameters for the hardware interface that I am building