Ethernet shield issues + sending OSCs

Hi guys,

I’m a newbie in using the Arduino Ethernet Shield v2 (Arduino product code A000024) and I’m experiencing some strange behaviousr on a critical work with strict deadline :confused:.

The project involve some Arduino (both UNOs and MEGA2560s) sending sensor data via OSC to a couple of destination PCs for later processing.

To do that I’m using what it seemed to me to be a quite simple to use Arduino OSC library, the CNMAT one.

I’ve noticed this facts:

• Fact 1, which I think is not dependant on the Ethernet shield itself but on the firmware I’ve written and on the library I’m using. The firmware (find one of them attached) is stucked, or running terribly slowly, when the destination PC is not connected on the LAN. Why? This sounds strange to me because I’ve always used OSC in my work (especially on software written for and running on PC) whitout problems in similar situations;

Is there a way to prevent my code from remaining stucked if something like this occurs?
Maybe is out there another OSC library for Arduino which works better?

• Fact 2, which I think is related to some hardware malfunction. I’ve found my code getting stucked even with a correct setup of the LAN. The code stop working, stop sending OSC messages, Ethernet shield is no more reachable with the ping. This persists also after loading again the code, or manually resetting the Arduino board. Initially I thought it was my fault but I’ve found that, substituting the shield with another one, the problem magically disappeared. On one of the problematic shield I’ve also experienced many continuos shutdown and startup of the Arduino every 5 seconds;

Are these ethernet shield known to be defective or having some issues?
The strange thing is that I’ve experienced this problem on 3 out of 8 of them: this is super critical!

Have you experienced something similar?
Do you know of similar problems occured before?