Extracting a magnetic heading from GY-86

I have been having trouble with extracting a magnetic heading from my recently bought GY-86
Here is a link to the module: http://dx.com/p/148737 It has the chips: MPU6050 + HMC5883L + MS5611 on board.
I am able to use the “MPU6050” (GitHub - jrowberg/i2cdevlib: I2C device library collection for AVR/Arduino or other C++-based MCUs) library example but not the “HMC5883L” example.

When I use the HMC5883L example I always get the “HMC5883L connection failed”.
I suspect that this is some kind of an address problem, but I don’t know.

Does anyone here have some answers or hints for me?

HMC5883L_raw1.ino (3.3 KB)

It has been a while, when I studied the rowberg stuff. IIRC the magnetic sensor is on a seperate I2C bus, only talking to the MPU6050.

guttih: I suspect that this is some kind of an address problem, but I don’t know.

Use a I2CScanner to find the adress of the HMC5883L (and the MS5611). Link: http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/I2cScanner

According to schematic of GY-86 (http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Free-shipping-GY-86-10DOF-modules-MWC-flight-control-sensor-module-With-chips-MPU6050-HMC5883L-MS5611/915786_1044842262.html) magnetometer connected to the auxiliary master I2C bus of MPU5060. But MPU5060 has ability to connect auxiliary I2C bus directly to primary I2C (slave mode) bus via special bypass mux (see section 7.11 of MPU5060 product specification).

There are three steps required to activate the bypass mode of MPU 5060:

1. set I2C Master enable bit (I2C_MST_EN, bit 5) in user control register (USER_CTRL , 0x6A) to 0 (on MPU5060 power up it is already equeal zero).
  2. set I2C Bypass enable bit (I2C_BYPASS_EN,bit 2) in INT Pin / Bypass Enable Configuration register (INT_PIN_CFG,0x37) to 1.
  3. Turn off sleep mode by reseting SLEEP bit (bit 6) of the power management register #1 (PWR_MGMT_1, 0x6B).

In short, do the folloving:

MPU6050_write_reg (0x6A, 0);
MPU6050_write_reg (0x37, 2);