Extracting one CAN bus message

I've looked all over the place for CAN bus info and especially on extracting one message and using it as an output to power an LED. Can't really find anything on it. I'm not a complete newbie when comes to Arduino but anything CAN bus communication I slow way down and get confused pretty easily, I'm trying to get a grip on this. I can get my Arduino and CAN bus shield to communicate and show the values needed on my serial monitor. I'm just confused on extracting the specific info ex (headlights on = LED on). I'm using CAN-BUS shield library from seeedstudios: example "receive- monitor". If anyone has info or advice on a better way of communicating with CAN bus

ok... not much to go with so this is kind of a generic answer.

say you have a CAN message 8 bytes long with the following message structure with regards to the 'signals' defined in it:

now, depending on which signal you are after you need to then 'grab' the bits/bytes for that signal before you can read it.

for example, in the above CAN message map, if you want to read the value of 'SIG2', since it is only one bit long you can simply do bitRead(buf[6],4), where 'buf' is the array that contains you CAN message data.

hope that helps...

thank you, this helped out. I understand extracting the one piece of data now. I can see the info my car is sending me. How to I go about asking my Arduino to ignore all but one arbId/CanId and it's data?

have a look at this previous post of mine?

hope that helps...

this info has gotten me farther. What I'm confused about is the info on the left is using 11bits where on the right is a different layout. would I need to convert the "0x010F0000" on the right into binary? Also the "(0,0,...)" part of the code the first 0 represents the byte and second 0 represents how many bits. Am I correct in this?

If you have the library for your canbus shield there are examples showing the structure of a message and how to decode it .