fall detection and prevention system

I am making a fall detection system for my project using accelerometer sensor of a smartphone. Using the sensoduino android app i am able to transfer the sensor readings from the smartphone to the arduino via the HC-05 bluetooth module. I need guidance on how to proceed further in this project. once i have received the values what should be my next step. i am totally new to arduino. Also if someone has worked on this before so can anyone please help me with the code too. I need to implement a fall detection algorithm which involves comparing acceleration vector sum value to a particular threshold value above which a fall is detected. How to decide the threshold value? thanx in advance :slight_smile:

What purpose does the Arduino serve? Surely the smartphone can detect a fall.

Most accelerometer chips have a 0g ouput. Its used for detecting freefall

I wonder if the phone can send data to the Arduino fast enough for the Arduino to be able to do anything about a fall other than know that it happened?

...R

@jremingtom Well yes a smartphone itself can detect a fall but i wanted to do a both hardware and software related project so had to use an arduino.

Is this a school / college project? It's cropped up in the past and I suspect that Google may be able to help you locate what people have done previously.

@robin2 Have a look at this link :

This is what i have implemented for my project.