Feasible from a programming perspective?

I am relative to new to robotics and am thinking of using the UNO v3 with a motor sheild for the following (relatively) basic design. I have build control circuits before and know how to use motors and servos but I am new to the Arduino programming language. Before I dive headfirst into building the hardware I wanted to know if you guys thought this programming would be possible given the limitations of the language and where you think I might run into problems.

Hardware Design:
upright chassis, two 4-5inch wheels attached to dc motors
swivel wheel at the back for stability
two arms, connected to standard servos attached mid-body with 2 micro-servos on the ends of the 'hands'
IR emitter on front, mid-body
IR emitted, top of body, forward facing

Electronics:
Arduino UNO V3
Motor Shield V3
6-v battery pack for control circuits
9-v batter for motor/servo control

Ideally I would like to build 2 of these have them "fight" with the following programming parameters:

1. look for IR signal using IR receiver
    if no signal found, rotate body (maybe 1/4 turn) on wheels and check for IR signal again. Continue until IR is located
  2. once IR signal is located, move forward as long as IR signal is detected.
    while moving forward, "flail" arms by commanding servos to go from one 90 degree point to the other as long as the IR signal is present
    If signal is lost, go back to spinning/looking for signal until found
  3. possibly put a 'kill' switch on the front of each robot that could be turned off by the 'winner' by the arm flailing, indicating victory

This would result in the two robots rotating in place until the other robot is 'sighted' by location of the IR signal, then moving together, arms flailing as long as the can 'see' each other, until one robot 'knocks' the other out.