Features Feedback (WIBLI features list)

I generally love the new IDE 2 compared to IDE 1.8.16 but there are still some things it could do better. This is meant to be positive criticism and I would really like to adopt it for use all the time. BUT...

I really want to use a feature rich IDE which makes compiling and uploading easy as I am not a programmer, more a builder of stuff that need MCUs
these days.

The big positive thing about Arduino is how it seamlessly manages the external libraries that come with some of the shields and there's loads of material out there on the WWW.

I have been frustrated with Microchip Studio 7 as although it has an Arduino sketch import wizard, this fails to cater for any but the basic libraries.

I read forum posts on the subject, folk always question why someone would want to move away from the Arduino IDE especially if you want to use external libraries (eg RadioHead).

Here's my current list of reasons - features of Microchip Studio 7 I like above Arduino IDE 2.0:

• IntelliSense - type eg a 'D' on a new line and you get a drop down of all probable words you might be thinking of writing eg 'DDRB' in my case.
  • Editor syntax checking pre compile - there's a red squigggly line under anything it can't reference.
  • Spell check on comments.
  • Can shrink loops and /.../ structures.
  • Can rename variables and change all instances if required
  • Tab control is more intuitive
  • Can access web links direct from comments (for spec sheets - supporting documentation)
  • Colour coded register names
  • IntelliSense helps correct variable scope error before compile
  • Highlight a variable and all instances of that are highlighted.
    There's a bunch more features I haven't learnt to use yet.

These features make using it so much easier to edit code despite having to:

• solder an ISP header to my Nano
  • connect it the right way round to my ISP