Finding the IP and MAC address for Ethernet shield

Hello,

I am a decent C programmer but I am trying to set up the Ethernet shield for a project. I am unsure after reading several tutorials how the individuals found the IP address of the device. I have an ATT wireless internet hub at my place. I'd like to eventually get it wireless but for now I'll stick with hard wired. when we set the device up how do we find, get, create the IP address?

Thanks

There are different ethernet shields, so you probably need to say which one you have. With the w5100 shield and standard ethernet library, you assign the ip and mac addresses to be used in the code you are going to load into the arduino.

I too have just received the W5100 Ethernet device from Adafruit. I was led to beleive that they had their MAC adress hard-coded in the chip, and that this was displayed on a sticker on the unit ... not true - I 'think' all we can do is take a WAG at a unique adress, and just use it.

Charles

If I assign it an IP address how do I go about finding out which ones are noi used. I have to "Ping" the address so to speak? How do I go about doing this?

Thank you

You can open a command box under windows and type : ping /? <return> and it gives the help. As you probably have a standard subnet defined at home you can try

ping 192.168.1.1 ( probably your router)
it will reply with some statistics about reachability.

then you could just try all numbers until you find one that is free
ping 192.168.1.2
etc

a more interesting command is : arp -a
ARP stands for Address Resolution Protocol, the -a flag shows all the addresses your PC knows about, so that are ones you don’t need to test :slight_smile:

Finally you could download tools like - http://www.radmin.com/products/previousversions/portscanner.php - which automatically checks a complete subnet for free and used IP addresses.

Succes
Rob