First Project - Using a Thermistor to Make a Digital Thermometer

Hi. I'm new to arduino, and also pretty new to both circuitry and coding in general. I want to build a sous vide or immersion cooker controller, sort of like this project, except I parted it out myself instead of buying a kit.

Before I can turn any cooker on and off, though, I need to be able to read the temperature. I bought this thermistor probe from amazon and some 10K resistors from radioshack to create a voltage divider. I used a screw shield to connect the probe from the 5V pin to the A0 pin, and the resistor from the A0 pin to ground.

The thermistor probe didn't come with a data sheet or really any documentation, just a little slip of paper that (in Chinese) seemed to say which air conditioners it was compatible with. It definitely did not come with a code library like the popular Dallas/OneWire probes. So what I did was record a bunch of analogread() (voltage?) values from the probe in a pot of ice water that I brought slowly to a boil. I also recorded the temperature in the pot according to two different (thermocouple) kitchen thermometers I had and then I fit the data to a 3rd-degree polynomial in excel.

Here is my code with that fit:

#include <SPI.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
#include <math.h>

//Function Declarations
double Thermistor(int RawADC)
{
  double Temp;

//sample code from http://playground.arduino.cc/ComponentLib/Thermistor2 :
// Temp = log(10000.0*((1024.0/RawADC-1))); 
////         =log(10000.0/(1024.0/RawADC-1)) // for pull-up configuration
// Temp = 1 / (0.001129148 + (0.000234125 + (0.0000000876741 * Temp * Temp ))* Temp );
// Temp = Temp - 273.15;            // Convert Kelvin to Celcius
// Temp = (Temp * 9.0)/ 5.0 + 32.0; // Convert Celcius to Fahrenheit

//temporary readings, course grade
  Temp = (0.00007292585*RawADC*RawADC*RawADC) - (0.2014824*RawADC*RawADC) + (186.2261*RawADC) - (57518.79);
  Temp = (Temp * 9.0)/ 5.0 + 32.0; // Convert Celcius to Fahrenheit