Flicker LED and Anolog meter guidance.

First off let me say that i am a total noob. This is my first arduino project. I have never done anything like this, kind of out of my realm here. I will need a lot of hand holding. Sorry.

I am in the process of making a steampunk nixie tube clock. I have the nixie clock made and it works. I am wanting to do some styling with pulsing/surging/flickering leds. Now i dont think the leds will be the problem. I also have an old analog volt meter face. I am wanting the needle to pulse and surge with the leds. Now the range on the meter face says -5 to 5v. But when i tried 5v it pegged the needle. So i moved it all the way down to 1v and it finally started to move down. It seems the voltage range of the meter is very small. I figured out it was between .4 and .8v. Wierd right? Anyway, think there is anyway way to make it work? I will be working with a uno r3.

Info on the meter- from 1947, 150 ohms between terminals.

Thanks for your time, i will really need some help with this one.

You probably just have the meter movement, and there were originally some other components for +/-5V.

You can add a resistor in series to make a [u]voltage divider[/u]. If 1V is full-scale on the meter, then 600 Ohms in series would make a 1/5 voltage divider (150 Ohm meter out of 750 Ohms total) and 5V would read full-scale.

-5 to 5v.

Does the meter rest in the center? If so, it's a little tricky to negative voltages out of the Arudino, but there are ways to make the meter go negative.

You can use random PWM values to flicker the LED and to flicker the meter. But, you'll have to play-around with the timing... Maybe 1/10th of a second (100mS) between PWM changes, and probably a little longer on the meter.

You just need to learn how to analogWrite() works (PWM) and how random() works. and this will be easy!