Flyback circuit question

Hi all, newbie here so be gentle! I have some electronics knowledge but am very rusty.

My question is thus:

I intend on controlling a 24v solenoid valve via a photocoupled mosfet tlp241a The maximum power of the coil will be 20w (hopefully 10-15w when all is said and done)

Now because the solenoid is an inductive load i believe ill need a snubber.

I was origonally thinking a 1n5404 diode. Would this be sufficient? Or overkill?

Or am i better to look at a capacitor and resistor combo?

Or something else.

Im looking for a reliable, cheap and simple solution.

Thanks in advance to all who reply!

A single diode would be fine. Typically a 1N4001 or similar is enough in your situation.

Ok thanks. What about if i run 2x solenoids off the one fet? Should push the current up to 1.7amp

A 1N400x (1-4) would still be fine for simple on/off. Short duration peak current of that diode is about 25Amp from memory.

If you're going to PWM the solenoid, you might be better off with a schottky diode. Leo..

Thanks leo, no pwm on these. Just on/off, although the solenoids are potentially going to have a lot of on/off cycles over their lifetime. I wouldnt imagine that would bother the diodes tho...

Is a flyback diode really needed with this device? It has 2 mosfets and 2 diodes.

A flyback diode across a solenoid shorts the kickback when the transistor turns OFF. Without a diode, the collector drain would see many times the supply voltage of the solenoid. Leo..

Did you look at the device the OP is using?

And yes I know what a flyback diode does and that is why I raised the question.

I don't see what difference an opto fet makes. If you switch a solenoid with a common N-channel fet with integrated body diode, you still need a diode across the solenoid. Because that diode is in the wrong place. Leo..

The 2 Diodes in the optocoupler are for static protection, they won't work as kickback suppressors.