Fog Machine controller

Hello,

I'm looking to build an Arduino-controlled fog machine.
Now the problem is: this is my first time hacking a device/machine powered off 230V (Dutch mains standard).

The fog machine is a Martin Magnum 650 (2.66A/230V/620W). It has a (wired) remote with a rocker switch and a status indicator light. I plan on using a relay board (this one) with an Arduino Uno.

I want to replace the rocker switch with the relay board and connect it to the Arduino. This is already sufficient to make it work from an Arduino. Now what I really need help with is the status indicator. I want to be able to see if the fog machine is heated up or not. The status indicator is actually a bit complex. When the rocker switch is pressed, the indicator becomes brighter (doesn't matter if it's heated up or not). And when the fog machine is heated up, the light is really dim but not completely off.

Unfortunately I don't have a multimeter (actually I just ordered one off Ebay) so I cannot really measure the amount of current going through, neither can I measure the voltage. In order to be able to 'read' the status, I would connect the positive lead of the indicator wire to an Arduino pin. For obvious reasons, I would have to limit the current using a resistor. But the voltage should also drop to 5V, right?

Also, is the power going to the remote AC or DC? If it's DC, I can measure it safely using the multimeter I just ordered. The indicator lamp is rated for 10A (fog machine's input current is 2.66A).

Technical specs of the fog machine: http://www.martin.com/spec/compositespec.asp?pp=1&popspec=0&extratext=on&bullets=on&photo=on&region=US&lang=0&product=Magnum650
The rocker switch and indicator lamp/light: NINGBO HAISHU LIHE ELECTRONIC CO.,LTD.

Thanks in advance!

Greetings from the Netherlands,
Jeffrey