Gesture Controlled Contactless Elevator With Stepper Motor

Hi,
I am pretty new to coding and especially Arduino. I am currently working on this model elevator that would be contactless helping to prevent the spread of Covid-19. I am Using an APDS-9660, a 128x64 OLED i2c display, and the ULN2003 Stepper Motor Driver Board with the Stepper Motor, both from the Rex Qualis Arduino Uno starter kit. I can have the sensor and the OLED work properly except when I tried to add the code for the motor and wire it up, the motor doesn't work. I have added serial.prints where the motor is supposed to run and they work so I am just confused why the motor won't work

I have attached my code as it was too large to add to the post and a picture of my circuit, I hope it is clear enough, as I do not yet know how to make a proper circuit diagram.

Thank you for your assistance in advance!

Gesture_Controlled_Elevator_with_Stepper_Motor.ino (16 KB)

change the line that says

Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 8, 9, 10, 11);

to

Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 8, 10, 9, 11);

see, pins 9 and 10 are swapped

.. and make sure you have all Grounds connected as common

I have no idea how the suggestion in Reply #1 was arrived at.

It seems to me the problem is that you are trying to operate the stepper motor on some of the SPI pins. Pins 11, 12 and 13 are used by SPI (and SPI cannot use any other pins) and usually also pin 10 for slave-select.

Try connecting the ULN2003 to some other I/O pins. Be aware that the analog pins will also work as digital pins.

...R

A stepper motor is no solution for an elevator, better use a geared DC motor. With a stepper motor you risk the platform falling into the cellar when loaded, with no chance to recover.

ULN200x are very poor motor drivers with high loss of voltage and energy. For a DC motor use a modern H-bridge, not the old L293D with twice the problem of the ULN darlingtons.