GPS Tracked pet collar

Hello everybody ! I'm beginning on Arduino (actually, I've discovered it 2 years ago and abandonned it because I didn't have any cool project in mind), I have 2 Arduinos UNO and 1 mega. I'm not in electronics but I'm a system and web developer.

I will maybe have a baby cat next week, and as we sometimes go to the countryside, we're a little scarred of escapes. I know I can buy something on the market, but... I like DIY stuffs, I like coding, and I would like to build it myself. So, here is what I was thinking about: - Arduino micro or arduino nano or a smaller clone (actually, I only know arduino in the self-made C/C++ electronic world) - GPS/GSM module (like this one to only send position by SMS) or GPS/GPRS module (like this one to eventually send the position to a server) or even a GSM/GPRS module (telit modules are capable of giving an approximative location using the GSM cells), or why not, a GSM/GPRS AND a GPS modules separated. - Small LiPo battery capable of powering the system at least during 5 days without being charged, and if possible, at least 1 week if I design the system to use power only few times a day unless receiving a command by SMS for example. I think at least for the arduino to "know" the clock and power-on the modules when needed, it will be constantly draining power... Unless there is ideas. - Of course, the system MUST use the least energy possible (to have a longer battery-life), MUST be light (if the cat wants to remove it because it's 10Kg around his neck, it's becoming useless) and MUST NOT irradiate the animal (a cat can last ~15 years, I don't want to cause it cancer or whatever, if possible.) - I'm surfing on the level 0 concerning electronics and I can learn quickly. I know U=R.I, but I don't know how to use a capacitor for instance.