Grab audio-in to be sent over the Serial/USB link and played on a PC

Hi there,

I'm an Arduino beginner and just started to practice with the Arduino Starter Kit suggested projects.

Everything looks so easy and simple if you deal with making LEDs blink or playing tone with the tone() function, things become a lot more complex if you try to sample real audio and try to elaborate it for other porpuses.

I'd appreciate if you can give me some hint about the following basic concepts.

My idea is to grab audio input, from 2 or 3 analog pins and send the samples over the USB/Serial port to a PC.

To do that I read analog audio from an input jack (a microphone or iPod will be plugged to the jack) with the analogRead function. Since the voltage of the input oscillates in the range of few millivolts I guess I'd need to process (scale) a little bit the signal with an OpAmp (I've found a pretty simple circuit sketch of a LM386 OpAmp) in order to get more appreciable samples to be mapped to the 0 to 1023 bit of the internal ADC of Arduino.

First question

What I read (the 10 bit values) is "noise-free"? Whatever I've read online (Arduino forum and others) about managing audio, assumes that you prescale the timers/clocks of the microprocessor in order to avoid/remove "digital" and DC offset noise. Is this mandatory or can I just use the standard delay() function to store my samples? I didn't get if the digital/DC noise is only a problem if the audio has to be PWModulated back from a digital Pin!!!

Second question

What I read is the result of ADC, so it's already digital audio. Are this samples RAW audio? Is it sufficient to translate raw to .wav format (or so) if I want to play the audio from the PC? I don't need to use PWM in order to "translate" my samples into a RAW audio format, am I right? PWM is a DAC funtion and in case of audio playing, is required if my audio is to be played back to a speaker out from a digitalPin, right?

Third question