Graphite rods for moisture sensor?

I am not an electrical engineer but a chemist,

I was wondering if anyone has considered using hard graphite, such as used in motor brushes to make a resistance soil moisture sensor.

Standard graphite is too soft but hard graphite should be strong enough to use as long as the sensor is not bashed into the ground

Comments please

A chemist should have learned that DC current flowing between two electrodes in a conductive media will cause various ions to build up on the electrodes and eventually limit the flow of electricity.

Doesn't matter if the electrodes are carbon or platinum or copper or silver or gold.

Paul

These will eventually crumble in the moist electrical environment.

Although they are very popular, people soon learn that resistance sensors just don't work to measure soil moisture.

The capacitive sensors in principle don't suffer from corrosion, but also have the problem that the immediate sensor environment may not be representative.

Worth a try though. You can buy a cheap one here, try out the Chirp (which seems more promising) or experiment like this person did.

Let us know what works best!

DC current flowing between two electrodes in a conductive media will cause various ions to build up on the electrodes and eventually limit the flow of electricity.

That is why many soil moisture sensors use alternating polarities during operation.

Many people have made usable sensors using stainless steel "skewers" from the supermarket.

Here's another link: http://gardenbot.org/howTo/soilMoisture/#The_local_circuit_-_simple_voltage

Paul_KD7HB: A chemist should have learned that DC current flowing between two electrodes in a conductive media will cause various ions to build up on the electrodes and eventually limit the flow of electricity.

Doesn't matter if the electrodes are carbon or platinum or copper or silver or gold.

Paul

You mentioned DC, not the OP.

MarkT: You mentioned DC, not the OP.