Guidance on creating a simple weight sensor (digital scale) and POST to the web

I'm creating my first arduino project and would appreciate some guidance. I am basically trying to re-create a digital scale that will POST to the internet. I am going to be measuring the coffee levels and updating our intranet with the info. :smiley: The coffee pot will sit on the scale and at regular intervals, will submit the data as an HTTP request.

Requirements:

• Since this is just for fun, the parts would preferably be cheap
  • Small sensor for measuring small weight changes. Accuracy is not that critical (cheaper is better)
  • Need to be able to send an HTTP request, so ethernet is a requirement

I am a professional web developer, so the programming part will be easy for me. However, I have no experience working with electronics/sensors/micro-controllers. Again, this is my first project. What parts do I need? Where can I buy them? Where can I learn to wire these parts together? Also, any tutorials you can refer me to would be VERY much appreciated.

Thanks!

Hi i'm new too so i won't be able to help hugely. But I'm thinking you'll need a load sensor to measure the weight: http://www.mindkits.co.nz/store/sensors/others/load-sensor-50kg. That's from a NZ store but I'm sure you can find it where ever you are. I just bought myself one but I haven't played around with it yet. Also here's some more info about the load sensor NerdKits - Digital Scale Strain Gauge Weight Sensor
Here's someone who did something similar to yours http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1260242124

Hope that helps! :slight_smile:

Thanks for the links. However, I don't think that the 50kg load sensor will work. It will be too big. I will be measuring a relatively lightweight object. So I need to find something smaller (5 lbs / 2.2 kg). Can anyone post a link to a smaller load sensor that I can purchase?