Hand Free Mouse

I'd like to build a hands free mouse. I'm thinking a 9dof attached to a hat brim and possibly bluetooth connected to a promicro. Any ideas, keep in mind I'm a noob

Yes a micro will do it.

If the micro is not on the hat and you are using an I2C sensor (most of them) then long wires will perform poorly for I2C. I have had trouble with wires as short as 20cm but you can usually expect 100cm to work.

Sounds cool.
You ask for ideas.

1. Google. See what other people have done that is similar.
  2. Work in small steps. Get a 9dof sensor and play with it. Connect it to your arduino. Write a simple sketch that reads the values and prints them to the serial monitor. If you are a complete noob (not being insulting, just trying to help) start out with Blink examples to get familiar.
  3. Come here often with any questions that you have. Be aware that the best way to ask for help is to present you code (use code tags), state what you expected it to do, state what actually happened and state how those two differ.

Put a 3D compass on top of the head, over the neck turn axis. They're good to a degree or two in 3 dimensions and not need to calculate from forces measured. Incorporate headphones and boom mike and think about touch buttons on the headband sides and brim, there's at least 2 ways to DIY the deal.
With an accelerometer you can get gestures easier.
I would use a Micro or Teensy mounted on the side opposite the boom mic and run USB as HID to the PC.

Touch button can be made from a piezo disk (I bought bags of 10 cheap one year.), a diode, a BJT, wire and heatshrink tube.
The piezo disk is like a capacitor that charges when it's squeezed. If there's a path from one side to the next, charges move. The BJT lets the piezo surge open the gate even to a light touch, a resistor can tune that. The diode is for when the disk is released and the charges need to flow back.