Having trouble debugging my LED/ shaft encoder code

Hi, could someone help me figure out what I did wrong here. I am new to arduino programming but I think I am having trouble with my for loops.

This project uses the code supplied with bliptronics programmable RGB leds. I modified it to do what I need but its not working to good. What I have is a strip of 16 leds rotating around a shaft. I have a photointerrupter and encoder wheel on it. The encoder wheel has 40 gaps what I am trying to do is to trigger all green LED’s when the motore spins the encoder and it crosses the first gap. Then it should turn off all leds for the rest of the revolution and trigger all the green leds again every time it passes gap 40 and starts a new rotation (giving me a vertical line of leds at 0 degrees and no light the rest of the rotation)

What I am getting is all green led’s always on all of the time… my 0 to 80 counter does not seem to be updating so its always zero and thus all leds go on all the time… The rest of the code works fine. the latch() function works and so does the setup() and sendbyte() functions. the problem is in the loop()… any help would be appreciated…

// Example code to use with LED strip with 1606 controller chip
// Code by Ben Moyes, bliptronics.com November 2010
// Please give credit or buy some LEDs from me!

// *       L2ggrrbb
// *       00 - LED off
// *       01 - LED on (max bright)
// *       10 - LED fade up   (start at min bright)
// *       11 - LED fade down (start at max bright)

// Set which pins you will use to connect to the LED strip, you need 4 digital pins.
#define SIPIN 2
#define DIPIN 3
#define CLKPIN 4
#define LATCHPIN 5

#define LEDS 16    //Set this to the number of LEDs in your strip
#define CLOCK_DELAY (LEDS * 250)/1000  //This is the required delay between sending a bit and the clock line being fired.
                                        //You can tweak this value lower until you find LEDs on the end of your chain misbehaving