HD44780 3.3v Help!

Hi,

I'm fairly new to arduino/electronics in general (although not new to programming) - trying to get the arduino working with a HD44780 compatible, 3.3v LCD from sparkfun (link below because I can't post links in my first post...).

I have hooked up the LCD exactly as discussed for the LiquidCrystal library, have a 10k pot working for controlling the contrast, backlight is working but for the life of me I can't get any output on the screen, have tried multiple sketches. All I get is a solid line at the top of the display, like a underscore upside down for each of the top line of characters.

I realised this morning that I am trying to drive a 3.3v device with 5v logic, could this be the reason I'm not getting output? Would a 5v to 3.3v regulator (LM3940) on each of the data lines sort this?

Also, what are the chances I've fried the board using 5v already?

I'm really sorry not to be posting my code here (I'm at work) will update later, it's killing me not understanding! :-/

Thanks so much

Tom

Link to sparkfun LCD is http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9054

Thanks for any and all help!

what are the chances I've fried the board using 5v already

The chances are good, or should that be bad. You have put an input voltage greater than the supply voltage and the data sheet for the controller says that is outside the absolute limits.

Would a 5v to 3.3v regulator (LM3940) on each of the data lines sort this

No a regulator is for power you need to cut down the voltage. One way is to have a series resistor of say 1K and a diode on the low voltage end up to the positive supply (3V3). Going from a low voltage output to a regular input should be no problem providing there are no pull up resistors on the input (internal or external).

dewgenenny:

The way I read the datasheets this device is rated for an absolute maximum of 7 v although it will run at 3.3v.

Don

Mike: