Heater element controller with Arduino - Not the same problem as always!

Hello

Im new to Arduino programing.

I have a project in which I have to control a heater element. The requirements are that the temperature has to increase +20°C from ambient (20-22°C) at a rate of 5°C/min. After that, It has to wait 2 min or until the temperature reaches again ambient. The cycle has to repeat 4 times.

I have a heating coil which I can control trough a Relay and an LM35 temperature sensor.

I have an Arduino UNO with ATMEGA 328-P

The problem I have is that I dont know how to guarantee that rate. Everything that I have found so far its just to reach a temperature but without any time requirements.

If anyone could help me solve this problem, I really appreciate it!!

Thanks in advance!

The requirements are that the temperature has to increase +20°C from ambient (20-22°C) at a rate of 5°C/min.

First, make sure your heating element is capable of rising that fast.

Then "think digitally". ;) Increment it in 1 degree or 1/10 of degree steps, etc. (you'll have to calculate the steps per minute).

You need to know the thermal capacity of what you are trying to heat. Only then can you work out what energy you have to put in to raise it to a specific temprature.

Hi

Thank you for your response.

What Im trying to heat its just air. and my heating element heats really fast. So I need to slow it down in order to match that rate.

What sort of control do you want. This sort of thing is a feedback system controlled by complex equations. Do you need under shoot, over shoot or critical damping?

Under shoot I believe its the most appropriate.

Please someone?

At least an insight on how to do it? If a PID controller would work? or not?

And how can I keep the temperature for 4min after it reached the ambient temp +20°C?

Thank you! I appreciate it.