Help Required : Full Home Automation

Hello.. I'm navin and i live in india. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to home automation. I came across a thread by a fellow country men about his home automation system project, i was very much impressed by it. Though there are system integrators for doing this jobs, I want to learn it and do it myself. Kindly guide me with this.

First to give a outline, following are the rooms in my building :

1 living room
4 bed rooms
1 kitchen
1 dining area
right round balcony

And following are the existing Fixtures and Fittings in each rooms:

Living room - 1 TV, 6 sets of CFL lights, 4 fans
bed rooms - 3 sets of CFL lights, 1 fan, Air conditioner
Kitchen - 2 tube light, 1 fan
dining area - 2 set of CFL lights, 2 fans
Balcony - 5 cfl lights

Sensors I would like to add:
2 X motion sensor
2 X temperature sensor

Kindly help me with this project. Please guide me with list of parts that i should procure to start this project.

Thank you

Hi, welcome to the forum.

It is not possible to say what is needed, because it depends what you want, and there are many possibilities.
I think the Domoticz project uses a mini-computer and not an Arduino board : http://domoticz.com/
At Adafruit, they are starting "Adafruit IO" for IoT and Home automation. You can sign up for the beta : https://io.adafruit.com/

I have an Arduino Mega 2560 board with an Ethernet Shield. Around the Mega board are a few Arduino boards with special tasks, like receiving data via 433MHz. That requires a lot programming, and was the most common solution a few years ago. Today, perhaps the Arduino Yun would be better for the web interface, or a Raspberry Pi.

Start small.
Get a cheap UNO, a breadboard, a PIR sensor, an LDR, a few 5mm LEDs, 10k and 1k resistors, and breadboard/hookup wire.
And a 9volt mains power supply with a DC jack that fits into Arduino's DC socket.
Download the IDE here and start with the examples from that program.