Help with a university honors project

Hello everyone. I am new. I am so new you can smell my newness. Yes, even through the internet. I’m new to Arduino, coding and electronics so please bear with me if I ask the occasional stupid question.

Now that I’ve got that out of the way, I have this idea for my major project at uni this year. I want to do this http://youtu.be/9VfiyDBjegs and make a wireless motion sensor which I want to then use to interact with an animated character on the computer. But first I need to learn how to do this http://youtu.be/yIX-_wDStgI. The person in the video has provided the code online but I can only find the Flash code not the Arduino one. Also, he assumes that everyone knows how to wire this thing together. I’ve got an Arduino Uno and this MMA7260 accelerometer module

I’ve been looking for tutorials on how to interface this module with the Arduino but I’ve just been getting instructions for Sparkfun’s MMA7260 breakout board.

So here are my questions:

How can I connect the module to the Arduino?
Can someone help me with the code?
Am I stupid for even trying this project? (I do have till the end of this year to finish. That should make it easier on me, right?..)

I need to get atleast the Arduino and the accelerometer working together properly by the end of May.

Thanks!

Googling "MMA7260Q arduino" found me a mountain of stuff. Have you tried that?

The breakout board is not adding a lot of functionality to the module. It is only making it convenient to wire up. If you've just bought the bare module, then you have some SMC work to do. Since you say you're new to electronics, why not save yourself some trouble and just get the Sparkfun board?

The Sparkfun board will take two weeks to get here and I don't have that much time :( What do you mean by SMC work? I there no other way to wire this thing up?

They sell accelerometers at Radio Shack if you're in the U.S. Expensive, but quick.