Help with controlling a Linear Actuator. Photos of "new old parts i have inside.

Hello,

I’m new to all this but in the past I purchased the parts to control a garage door from a iphone by following the instructions at this site. MyDoorOpener.com - iPhone Garage Door Opener - Parts but never got around to actually completing it.

Now I would like to control a actuator just a simple open and close.

The parts i have are
Arduino Ethernet with USB to serial adapter
DfRobot Relay Shield with 4 relays

12v linear actuator listed here

And a DC motor controller with remote

With the parts I have, how would I wire it up to be able to have the actuator open and close?

Thanks in advance,
Chris

Well that project references using an existing automated door.

What door is it you are opening with a 12 inch throw actuator? Certainly not an 'up and over' door.

I want to open a small door on a shed for ducks to get out.

Ah ok. You have a remote control and controller there which will open/close the actuator on it's own without the need for the Arduino or Relay shield if just open/close you want. Or are you meaning you want Ethernet control?

Yes i would like to control it from a android phone or webpage and later adding the possibility of having it on a timer.

If you are going to open a hinged door with that 12 inch actuator there is a relationship over its throw to hinge centreline and actuator pivot point.

To use full throw (less a small amount to apply pressure when open/closed) the 2 figures have to add up to the throw. Say 11.75 inch to allow for close pressure.

Although you can use less of the throw if the figures are much less.

I would start with the controller wired up correctly and get it working first then look at adding the net part.

It should be evident from the pics how to connect the motor. It already has built in limit switch according to the blurb. Just needs an extended point limit switch