Help with converting integer to unsigned char*

The library for 12864 LCD I am using requires the message to be displayed should be unsigned char* type, I am new to C++, could anyone tell me how to convert the integer or float to unsigned char*?

Thanks a lot.

Ardypro

The easiest way is to cast the value when you call the function, provided you know the library is simply expecting a buffer with the value and not actually chars. Cast by putting the desired type in front of the variable name.

myFunction((char *) myVarName)

That's not going to work if "myVarName" is a float!

OP, most display libraries have methods for displaying common datatypes - which one are you using?
Can you post your code?

I really also think that OP needs to clarify if he needs to convert the numbers to a string or if the value is just passed in what is effectively a byte buffer.

For integer:

char temp[20];
int myNumber = 3822;

sprintf(temp,"%d",myNumber);
LCD.whateverPrintFunctionItIs(temp);

Floats are slightly different because the Arduino sprintf function doesn't have them implemented. Instead, you use dtostrf():

char temp[20];
float myNumber = 3822.286455;

dtostrf(myNumber,0,4,temp);

In both cases you have to ensure that the temp variable is big enough to hold the result plus one character for a terminating NULL character (so, for 6 digits, you need a minimum of 7 array slices.)

The dtostrf() function has 2 numbers in it - 0 and 4. The 0 is the minimum size of the output (leave it at 0), and the 4 is the number of decimal places to display.

AWOL:
That's not going to work if "myVarName" is a float!

OP, most display libraries have methods for displaying common datatypes - which one are you using?
Can you post your code?