help with LCD

hey guys, so I'm a bit new to all this. got myself the uno R3 and a sparkfun nokia 6100 LCD shield. Color LCD Shield - LCD-09363 - SparkFun Electronics
so I'm able to program it all and get a image displaying on the screen, but for some reason it wont display the colours properly. might be brightness of the backlight, I dont know. basicly if I put the example here SparkFun Color LCD Shield LCD-09363 on the board the sparkfun logo appears, but not properly, most of the screen is white and just half an outline of the logo in red. I created my own program to just continuously display a red rectangle on the screen and keep refreshing it but it shows up as white.

please help a noob in need :smiley:

hey guys, I worked it out. but still need your help. I need to invert the hex colour codes. can anyone point me in the right direction of a list of inverse 12bit colour codes? I've been looking around and can find plenty of sites with the whole range but not inverted.

Could you let the sketch do it for you? Something like the following:
int hexConstant = 0xfff
int hexColorCode = 0xwhatever color code
int invertedHex = (hexConstant-hexColorCode)

Subtracting your desired color from FFF will give you the inverse in a variable you could call elsewhere. I'm sure it is less than ideal, but it's the best my noob brain can think of

cool, I just changed the presets in the code so they're right now. but now I have another issue, not all colours are showing up. it doesnt matter what I program the colours as, they always show up as pink, white, black or red. I cant get any other colours.

getting closer, found a inversion command which was switched on. so I've turned it off now. :D.
now some colours are appearing correctly, but reds and blues appear to be swapped. for example, take the last table on this page Triple Hex #C00 to #FFF