Homing stepper motor at start up and limit distance of travel?

Hello, I’m new to this and I was wondering if someone could help with my code?

I’m currently making a back gauge for a small press brake (sheet metal folder). Basically it is a backstop that moves a specific distance when the desired length is entered on a keypad. I found a some code from brainy-bits.com that is perfect for the job but it lacked two things.

1. I need it to home to a limit switch when it is switched on
  2. After it has homed it’s only able to travel a specific distance range and if a number is entered above that range it will not allow it to move.

I have managed to get the homing sorted I think but I am stuck on how to limit its travel distance? I need it to be able to only move say 470mm otherwise it will crash. I had thought about adding a second limit switch with an interrupt in the code but I’m unsure if this would confuse its actual distance its travelled and I would end up having to reset it all.

I have attached the modified code I’m using. Hope someone can help

Thanks, Oliver

Press_brake_home3.ino (8.67 KB)

Can’t you just count the pulses that you are generating during the homing phase?

Sorry I’m not too sure what you mean? Do you mean counting the pulses as it moves to its home position on start up or the number of pulses after it has homed? And only allowing it to pulse a specific amount of times?

Thanks, Oliver

The number of steps after it has homed.

...R

Ok, I thought that’s what was meant. I had thought possibly of doing something like that but unsure of how to do it.