How can I add a push button to my servo sweep code?

Hi,
I'm new to Arduino. I want to have a servo operate a mechanism every 30 seconds. I have achieved this already by modifying the example Servo Sweep code, but my servo was too weak. I've bought a slightly more powerful servo. When I run my code the servo just rotates constantly. The movement is too fast The new one is a continuous servo, the previous one was a 180-degree job. I'd be happy for the servo to rotate but I want to slow the movement down to get a rotation every 30 seconds. I've been banging my head on the keyboard trying to modify that code without success so far. Can you help me, please?

I've arranged a discreet 5v power supply for my servo in case that was the problem. My board is an Elegoo Uno R3

Many thanks,

Neil Ives

Do You think it could help us helping You if You attach the code? Read the topics like "How to use Forum", "How to attach...."

You should be able to control the speed of the continuous servo.

You are right to use an external supply even though so many tutorials use the
Arduino supply.

NeilIves:
I’ve been banging my head on the keyboard trying to modify that code without success

Possibly because “that code” is for a standard servo not a motor gearbox.

The only speed control you have for a continuous servo is the write() command. The Sweep technique does nothing at all. Basically write(90) is stop, 100 is slow, 150 is faster, 180 is fastest. But be aware that many continuous rotation servos have a very poor range of speed control so you may not be able to get yours to run very slowly.

Steve

Thank you for the replies. This is my first Arduino project. I think I will need to buy a 180 degree servo and a book on programming the board.

PS., Can you see that those replies were not really very useful to a complete beginner?

PS., Can you see that those replies were not really very useful to a complete beginner?