How to build an homemade IR sensors?

Hi there. I am trying to build a follow-line robot, and wish to build my own IR sensors (something like - http://www.pololu.com/docs/0J19/all).

Since i'm a newbie, what components should I buy when going to the eletronic store today? I want to build 5 sensors.

Thanks!

Hmmm…I can’t tell you exactly how the best way to do it, but I can give you a few hints.

Typical “line following” sensors can be bought pretty cheap (<2$). Eg. the QRD1114 or the QRB1134. They consist of an IR LED and a phototransistor and that’s it. When you hook them up you typically need a 220 Ohm resistor for the IR LED and a 10K pullup resistor for the signal. But you may have to play around with those resistor values to get the optimal result. You could replace the resistors with potmeters so you can dial in the best values and later replace them with fixed resistors with corresponding values.

Here is the schematic I used to hook up a QRB1134 recently:

You may wanna play around with different capacitor sizes (start with 0.1uF and go upwards) to smoothen out the signal. Or perhaps lose the capacitor alltogether.

You can also simply buy these components and make it yourself. That is an IR LED and a phototransistor. I’ve also seen people use a photoresistors instead of phototransistors for some applications.

Anyway I recommend doing a bit of research on the different options :wink:

Thanks! I got all the components, now to my next question: How can I test the sensitivity of my sensors (see a "live" data) on the screen without connect it to the motors/etc, just connect 1 IR sensor to the arduino and check the values it gets?

Well you set up your circuit according to the schematic above and connect the signal wire to one of Arduino's analog inputs. You can then read the output using the function analogRead().