how to calculate speed of the car ?

Hi everyone

I am new in the world of Arduino .. I have a project to do and I want help from you

My project is an alert (sound) if I reached a certain speed in the car and a certain distance from the car in front of me

What I need is what is the best way to measure the speed of the car in real time (same as the car speedometer)? (I just want to read the speed in order to do some calculations and not to show the speed of the car in the LCD screen)

Will the UltraSonic sensor work efficiently if the car is traveling at 100 mph?

Are you talking about real, full-size cars, or models? If real cars, this sounds like a dangerous project and the forum members will not want to help you with something that could lead to someone's injury or death.

The project is a model of a car is not real but I want to know all the information in order to have a full report on all possibilities, for example is the ultrasonic will work when car reach i certain speed ? what is the best way to calculate a speed of car ?

Measuring the speed of a car can be accomplished in various ways, depending on your real needs and budget. A simple (speedometer) solution would count the revolutions of a wheel, see rotary encoder.

100 mph for a model seems extreme.

Laser would be a better option for distance measure.

Video hereā€¦

bluejets:

Laser would be a better option for distance measure.

Video here...
Laser Distance measurement with 6pin VL53L0X and LCD1602-I2C for Arduino - YouTube

assuming that this is a school project, the project is mostly theoretical with a practical portion to get experience and some results to deal with.
the VL53LOX can sense distance up to 2 meters.
100 MPH = 44 meters per second.
It seems things would be happening really fast.
but, I am not sure how to turn distance on a highway to speed of a car.

On the other hand, if this could be water/oil proof, it would be a great device to measure the height of a fish tank or oil tank