How to control these 24v motors

I'm continuing my "please help identifying motor" thread in a new thread, because my question has evolved.

So it looks like I won't be able to identify the motors, so am now going to move on to controlling them. They're 3 24 volt motors being fed by a 24 volt 2.5 amp power supply. There are also two other motors in the machine that I need to control, but I haven't looked at them yet. They would use less power than these three.

So a total of 5 motors that I have to control. I think what I want to do is to start with a shield(s) for my prototype. But I may end up making a bunch of these, so may ultimately want to build my own circuits for controlling the motor. And keep in mind that I'm an electronics newbie.

People seem to recommend this one:

This can only control two motors, so I'd need three of them. This is pricy!

Here are my questions:

1. These "high power" motor shields can handle my 24 volt motors, but they're also designed for MUCH higher amperage than I will use. Again - my entire power supply is only 2.5amps. So do I really need a high power shield? Are there any cheaper options available?

2. Do you think it would be possible for an electronics newbie like me to build my own motor control circuits for these motors? Again, I'll probably start with a shield but will want to do a one-board solution at some point.

Thanks!

• Dave

Do you need to reverse the motors?

Yes I do, at least 2 of them.

Ok, I went ahead and ordered 3 of these:

I hope they will fit my needs! Please let me know if you think I made the wrong choice. I decided that I really need to break this project up into manageable pieces, and with all the other work I have to do and things I have to learn, learning how to make a motor controller was something I could "outsource".