How to convert char array to byte?

Hi,

I am new to c and I'm having trouble with something. According to
this I can use byte() to convert value x of any type to byte data type. I am trying to convert "0xff" to 255, but using byte() is displaying 40. Is there a build in function I can use or do I have to build something myself? Thank you.

char high[4] = "0xff";
 Serial.println(byte(high));

UPDATE:
I was trying to simplify the problem I was facing, but here is a more detailed idea of what I am trying to do. I am trying to parse some JSON data using ArduinoJson. Below you can see a simplified version of my JSON file and my goal is to create a list of bytes for each frame. I'm using JsonArray to extract the frame lists and then copying the JsonArray to a String array using copyArray and then try to convert that to a list of bytes.

JSON file (simplified; real file is pretty big)
{"frames":{"0":["ff","ff","ff","ff"],"1":["0","0","0","0","0"],"2":["ff","ff","ff","ff"],"3":["0","0","0","0","0"]}}

what you want do can be achieved several different ways -

If you show us your project, there’s probably a faster, tidier, more efficient way to achieve it.

//         ***
  char high[5] = "0xff";
  Serial.println(strtoul(high, NULL, 16));

Also, "0xff" is 5 bytes instead of 4 bytes.
The C string requires a null termination.

atol(), or,if a smaller integer will do, you could use the atoi() function.

I think atoi() not supports arguments in hexadecimal string.

Good point, perhaps sscanf(), although it has a bigger footprint, it also supports all number bases if needed.
Thanks for mentioning the hex !

SSCANF()

The third parameter of strtoul() is any radix(a.k.a. number bases). :wink:

https://www.cplusplus.com/reference/cstdlib/strtoul/

Hmmm, we learn something every day… thanks.

Would be interesting to know where the "0xFF" string originate from. May be there is more straightforward way if the format could be different. (Otherwise yes, strtoul() is the solution)