This is being tracked by the Arduino IDE developers here:
opened 07:48PM - 29 Mar 21 UTC
type: enhancement
topic: code
topic: serial monitor
### Describe the request
Allow **Serial Monitor** to be placed in a dedicated w… indow separate from the primary Arduino IDE window.
🙂 It will be possible for the user to control the display location of the Serial Monitor separately from the primary Arduino IDE window according to their needs and preferences.
🙂 This will provide feature parity with the Arduino IDE 1.x Serial Monitor.
### Describe the current behavior
Serial Monitor is a view in the bottom panel of the primary Arduino IDE window.
🙁 It is not possible to move Serial Monitor to a separate screen in order to dedicate all space on the primary screen to the Arduino IDE editor.
### Arduino IDE version
#### Original report
2.0.0-beta.4
#### Last verified with
2.0.1-snapshot-32d904c
### Operating system
All
### Operating system version
Any
### Additional context
The requested "tear off" capability would probably make sense for other windows ("**Output**" view) too.
<a name="workaround"></a>
#### Workaround
1. Select **File > New Sketch** from the Arduino IDE menus.
A new Arduino IDE window will open.
1. Select **Tools > Serial Monitor** from the Arduino IDE menus.
The "**Serial Monitor**" view will open in the bottom panel of the Arduino IDE window.
1. Hover the mouse pointer over the top border of the bottom panel.
The mouse pointer will change into a resize icon.
1. Click and drag the border up until it reaches its maximum height.
You can now use that Arduino IDE window solely for Serial Monitor, switching back to the other Arduino IDE window to do sketch editing, compile, upload, etc. operations just as you would do with the Arduino IDE 1.x Serial Monitor.
#### Additional requests
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-810073157
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-813597014
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-850550857
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-983961342
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-1006024396
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-1034829176
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-1068087883
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-1195300991
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-1247730828
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-1247930105
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-1257039691
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-1382677544
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-1399304977
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/289#issuecomment-1399421191
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/1799
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/1268
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/755
- https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/2131
- https://www.facebook.com/official.arduino/posts/pfbid02x5KM54Gf7L56Tea79pLYVafrciYAGZrioedDVD6YFKEnJdsiNT3w6S2WinZtrAc9l?comment_id=1395510504579311
- https://www.facebook.com/official.arduino/posts/pfbid02qWaAtdLM6Hz43h7BRiYLg3yAoDz4HXRw28tLpgc4d1rszqG5gjbbumA21cLcS2Vcl?comment_id=996845494967736
- https://twitter.com/DevReliefFred/status/1696610597171773571
- https://twitter.com/PaulStoffregen/status/1658089036685410305
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/making-the-serial-console-a-dockable-screen-again/1079586
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/ide-2-0-3-undocking-serial-monitor/1063170
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/arduino-ide-usb-serial-terminal-issues/1049458/13
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/how-to-get-all-my-1-18-19-libraries-installed-in-2-0-1/1050248/3
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serialmonitor-74880-baud-rate-in-ide-2-0-1/1046886
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/windows-the-serial-monitor-window-needs-to-pop-out-please/1036538
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/using-v-2-0-serial-monitor-print/1034093
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/arduino-2-0-0-macos-unexpected-differences/1033549
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/2-0-keyboard-shortcuts-dont-work/1033105/11
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/arduino-ide-2-0-0-available-for-download/1031651/17
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-a-separate-window/1031455/1
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-a-separate-window/1031455/3
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-a-separate-window/1031455/4
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-a-separate-window/1031455/15
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/changing-ide-fonts/1028827
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-issues-hopefully-fixed-before-release/1026548
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-seperate-window/1022661/1
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-seperate-window/1022661/2
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-seperate-window/1022661/5
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/automatic-build-external-screen-for-serial/1013958
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-with-new-ide/1010684/10
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/ide-2-0-rc5-serial-monitor-problems/978293
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-characteristics-fail/943590
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/how-to-dock-serial-monitor/942477
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/how-to-dock-serial-monitor/942477/12
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/no-support-for-esp32-boards-manager-2-01/940115/5
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/first-impressions-and-comments/930873
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/missing-serial-monitor-and-serial-plotter/924262
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/arduino-2-0-has-too-many-problems/1100602
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/arduino-2-0-has-too-many-problems/1100602/13
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/missing-baud-rate-dropdown-v2-0-4-ide/1105972
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/arduino-2-04-stuck-in-splash-screen/1107587/11
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-a-separate-window/1031455/16
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-a-separate-window/1031455/17
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-double-window-problem/1112463
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-a-separate-window/1031455/18
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/ide-2-1-i-am-not-happy/1142471
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/ide-2-serial-monitor/1146303
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-a-separate-window/1031455/26
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/i-miss-my-separate-serial-monitor-window/1163606
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/cannot-upload-to-ftdi-megas-only/1170683
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/your-reason-for-not-switching-to-the-2-x-ide/1176322
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/your-reason-for-not-switching-to-the-2-x-ide/1176322/23
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-in-separate-window-larger-font-etc/1204423
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/adios-ide-2-0-this-is-goodbye-forever/1031455/46
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/undock-serial-monitor/1237489
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/serial-monitor-not-in-separate-window-now/1299502/4
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/feeback-on-latest-2-x-ide-w-win11/1333594
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/critical-flaws-in-v2-ide/1335245
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/several-bugs-in-ide/1361018/11
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/path-error-linux-22-1/1393509/4
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/output-window-format/1406883
#### Related
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/can-we-pin-the-serial-plotter-window-in-ide-2-x/1415954
### Issue checklist
- [X] I searched for previous requests in [the issue tracker](https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues?q=)
- [X] I verified the feature was still missing when using the latest [nightly build](https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide#nightly-builds)
- [X] My request contains all necessary details
There are advanced settings to configure this behavior (editor.scrollbar.horizontal and editor.scrollbar.vertical). Unfortunately, there is a bug in the version of the Eclipse Theia IDE framework currently in use by Arduino IDE 2.x that causes the setting to be forgotten every time you open a new window:
opened 04:30PM - 28 Sep 22 UTC
closed 06:25PM - 30 Sep 22 UTC
preferences
monaco
### Bug Description:
When a non-default value is set for certain "User" setti… ngs, the default value is still used for all new editors/windows.
Other settings are applied correctly.
I have not done a comprehensive survey of all settings, but these are the settings I have discovered so far:
- `editor.find.addExtraSpaceOnTop `
- `editor.hover.delay`
- `editor.scrollbar.scrollByPage`
Examples of functional settings:
- `editor.autoClosingBrackets`
- `editor.renderWhitespace`
### Steps to Reproduce:
1. Run [the browser example](https://github.com/eclipse-theia/theia/blob/master/doc/Developing.md#quick-start).
1. Select **File > New File** from the menus.
1. Hold the <kbd>**Enter**</kbd> key until there is a significant amount of scrolling space in the file.
1. Open the **Command Palette**.
1. Execute the "**Preferences: Open Settings (JSON)**" command.
1. Set the `editor.scrollbar.scrollByPage` setting to `true`:
```json
{
"editor.scrollbar.scrollByPage": true
}
```
1. Select the previously created editor.
1. Click near the top of the scrollbar trough.
🙂 The editor view is scrolled up by a single page, according to the custom setting.
1. Select **File > New File** from the menus.
1. Hold the <kbd>**Enter**</kbd> key until there is a significant amount of scrolling space in the file.
1. Click near the top of the scrollbar trough.
🐛 The scrollbar thumb jumps all the way to the mouse pointer position, contrary to the custom setting.
### Additional Information
- Operating System: Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04
- Theia Version: 22a5f7e98ec23c664bfa9916a0d7f81e727fa26a
The bug has already been fixed in Theia , but Arduino IDE is still using a version of Theia from before that fix. So the fix will reach the IDE as a matter of course as the Arduino IDE developers find the time to update the Theia dependency version (doing this usually requires also making changes in the Arduino IDE codebase, so it is not so easy as simply bumping the version).
It seems reasonable to me. The scrollbar will appear again as soon as you move the mouse pointer into the panel, so it will always be available as soon as you reach the point of needing it. When not needed, it doesn't occupy precious space in the UI.
It is not clear to me what you mean by "learn 'VS Code'". If you are not satisfied with any of the themes that are installed by default, you might be interested in this information about installing any of the thousands of additional themes created by the community, or even making your own:
For the benefit of other interested parties, I'll link to the two relevant issues:
opened 03:55PM - 28 Oct 22 UTC
closed 10:11AM - 10 Nov 22 UTC
conclusion: resolved
topic: code
type: imperfection
### Describe the problem
Arduino IDE has a **File > Open Recent** menu that l… ists the most recently opened sketches for quick access by the user.
🐛 If a recently opened sketch is deleted, **Open Recent** is no longer shown under the **File** menu.
### To reproduce
1. Select **File > Save As...** from the Arduino IDE menus.
1. Save the sketch with the name "FooSketch" to any convenient location.
1. Select **File > Open Recent** from the Arduino IDE menus.
🙂 "FooSketch" and any other recently opened sketches are listed (unless you are already affected by the bug).
1. Select **File > Quit** from the Arduino IDE menus.
1. Delete the "FooSketch" sketch you created.
1. Start the Arduino IDE.
1. Select **File > Save As...** from the Arduino IDE menus.
1. Save the sketch with the name "BarSketch" to any convenient location.
1. Open the **File** menu.
🐛 There is no **Open Recent** menu item. The only way to recover the IDE from this state is to manually delete or remove the deleted sketch entry from the `~/.arduinoIDE/recent-sketches.json` file.
### Expected behavior
**Open Recent** menu is still functional after deletion of recently opened sketch.
### Arduino IDE version
2.0.1
### Operating system
Windows
### Operating system version
10
### Additional context
I bisected the regression to 2b2463b / https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/pull/1563 (does not occur when using the tester build for the previous commit 0773c3915ccf8938259a6d82198aa14410c9cb38)
I see this in the logs on IDE startup:
```text
root ERROR Uncaught Exception:
root ERROR Error: ENOENT: no such file or directory, scandir 'c:\Users\per\Documents\Arduino\FooSketch'
```
---
Originally reported by @UKHeliBob at https://forum.arduino.cc/t/2-0-1-no-open-recent-menu-item/1046905
### Issue checklist
- [X] I searched for previous reports in [the issue tracker](https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues?q=)
- [X] I verified the problem still occurs when using the latest [nightly build](https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide#nightly-builds)
- [X] My report contains all necessary details
opened 01:11PM - 01 Apr 22 UTC
priority: medium
topic: code
type: imperfection
criticality: medium
### Describe the problem
On Arduino 1.8.19, if you for example open up the ex… ample sketch: 01 Basic -> blink
And then close down Arduino. And then reopen Arduino, and go to the File -> Open Recent menu
Blink is on the list.
If you do this with IDE2, blink does not show up on the list.
Note: Also if you closed down IDE1 and blink was open, it will be reopened when you launch it again.
### To reproduce
discussed in the problem.
### Expected behavior
Would expect it to be remembered. And not the temp folder.
### Arduino IDE version
running 0401 nightly
### Operating system
Windows
### Operating system version
10
### Additional context
Note: I mentioned this in an comment on arduino/arduino-ide#925 and was asked to split this out as it's own issue.
#### Additional requests
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/add-sketch-name-search-capability/1118306/3
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/ide-2-3-2-not-updating-last-sketch-edited/1292503
### Issue checklist
- [X] I searched for previous reports in [the issue tracker](https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues?q=)
- [X] I verified the problem still occurs when using the latest [nightly build](https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide#nightly-builds)
- [X] My report contains all necessary details
If you have a GitHub account, you can subscribe to that issue to get notifications of any new developments related to this subject.
The developers have already started work on resolving both of those.
Terrypin:
why is it so narrow?
This is being tracked by the Arduino IDE developers here:
opened 09:47AM - 06 Jul 21 UTC
topic: code
type: imperfection
topic: theia
### Describe the problem
The width of the scroll bar in the editor panel is t… oo narrow.
### To reproduce
1. Edit a sketch with more than a full screen of lines
Scroll bar appears roughly half the width it should be.
Here you can see it compared against the width of the Chrome browser scrollbar:

### Expected behavior
The scroll bar should be the standard size for each platform
### Arduino IDE version
#### Original report
2.0.0-beta.8
#### Last verified with
e17472e
### Operating system
macOS
### Operating system version
Big Sur
### Additional context
#### Additional reports
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/how-to-get-all-my-1-18-19-libraries-installed-in-2-0-1/1050248/5
- https://forum.arduino.cc/t/vertical-scroll-bar-color/1153729
As with the hiding behavior, this is intended to be configurable via an advanced setting ( editor.scrollbar.horizontalScrollbarSize and editor.scrollbar.verticalScrollbarSize), but the setting does not affect new windows:
opened 04:54AM - 03 Oct 22 UTC
closed 03:35PM - 06 Dec 22 UTC
good first issue
monaco
### Bug Description:
When a non-default value is set for the `editor.scrollba… r.horizontalScrollbarSize` or `editor.scrollbar.verticalScrollbarSize` settings, the default value is still used for all new editors/windows.
### Steps to Reproduce:
1. Run [the browser example](https://github.com/eclipse-theia/theia/blob/master/doc/Developing.md#quick-start).
1. Select **File > New File** from the menus.
1. Hold the <kbd>**Space**</kbd> key until a horizontal scrollbar appears.
1. Hold the <kbd>**Enter**</kbd> key until a vertical scrollbar appears.
1. Open the **Command Palette**.
1. Execute the "**Preferences: Open Settings (JSON)**" command.
1. Set the `editor.scrollbar.horizontalScrollbarSize` and `editor.scrollbar.verticalScrollbarSize` settings to 50:
```json
{
"editor.scrollbar.horizontalScrollbarSize": 50,
"editor.scrollbar.verticalScrollbarSize": 50,
}
```
1. Select the previously created editor.
🙂 The horizontal and vertical scrollbar "troughs" are sized according to the custom setting.
❗ There is an unrelated bug that causes the "thumbs" to remain at the default size.
1. Select **File > New File** from the menus.
1. Hold the <kbd>**Space**</kbd> key until a horizontal scrollbar appears.
1. Hold the <kbd>**Enter**</kbd> key until a vertical scrollbar appears.
🐛 The horizontal and vertical scrollbar "troughs" are sized according to the default setting (14).
### Additional Information
- Operating System: Windows 10
- Theia Version: d3f6359934d025781810c467e2f3b42b55f0ff0d
Related: https://github.com/eclipse-theia/theia/issues/11709
Unfortunately, in this case the fix for the bug seems to not be so straightforward, so we are stuck with this annoying non-standard scrollbar width for now.