How to make a battery tester connection on a breadboard

Hello,

I am new to electronic and microcontroller but really fascinated about electrical stuffs. Here is the problem, I want to test a 9v battery using arduino and labview much like a multimeter (much later a deep cycle battery) . How do I make the connection on a breadboard to show accurate readings on my labview indicator. Like I said really really new to electrical and electronics. I would really be grateful if I could get a drawing of the connection using fritzing. Your help will be much appreciated.

Michael

grateful if I could get a drawing of the connection using fritzing.

Doh!

That's where you lost your audience.

Fritzing is a bit of a dirty word around here. Maybe some one will but quite a lot of us won't touch that heap of ****.

Draw you a schematic if you want.

You just need a voltage divider with two resistors and connect the tap to an analogue pin.
Read the pin, and the digital value you get will represent the battery voltage.

For a 9volt battery, use e.g. two 10k resistors in series from battery positive to ground.
The tap will have 4.5volt.
If you read that with Arduino's default 5volt Aref, you will have a digital value of about (4.5volt/5volt*1024 = ~921).
You can convert that in your code to a human-readable value.

Try that first before you advance to reading the voltage with e.g the internal 1.1volt Aref and smoothing.
Leo..

Wawa:
You just need a voltage divider with two resistors and connect the tap to an analogue pin.
Read the pin, and the digital value you get will represent the battery voltage.

For a 9volt battery, use e.g. two 10k resistors in series from battery positive to ground.
The tap will have 4.5volt.
If you read that with Arduino's default 5volt Aref, you will have a digital value of about (4.5volt/5volt*1024 = ~921).
You can convert that in your code to a human-readable value.