How to make servo lives longer ?

Hi I am new to arduino and servos. :slight_smile: The servos die within 2 weeks in my toy project. I found some advice here in this forum, and changed a bit the circuit (figure). Sorry for the rough drawing.

Aim of my toy project is to let a servo drive a light rod up and down, which touches the fixed broads on both side and being blocked to a stop (figure). This movement has a period of a few seconds and runs 24/7. The servo is TP-SG90 continuous type.

How they die:
My first SG90 dies in 1 week and becomes hot when "dead". I was using my 1st circuit. The period is around 3 secs at this trial. I thought it was "dead" since the USB-powered arduino cannot drive it any longer. So I changed it and rewrite my program to a period of 10 sec. I increased the servo idle time and decrease speed in the servo program, so that the SG90 pushes less and lighter hard against the broads (afterwards I have an external power capable of high current output, and the SG90 moves again, but in some unpredictable manner and cannot be reused.)

My 2nd SG90 dies under the 1st circuit, too. The yellow arduino L-LED light flashes, and I suspect the driving current is not high enough. When I use an external power, the SG90 shakes lightly but does not move much. So I changed to another servo.

My 3rd SG90 is using the 2nd circuit and it moves fine at the moment.

I just know that the servo can be opened, and I shall open them to study what happened internally.

My question is : What should I do to make SG90 live longer ?? what have I done wrong driving it to death?? Do high loading / good power / polymer gear matters and any other things I missed ??

I know The gears are polymer but they should last longer than months with this very light loading. :o If this is impossible, may be I should consider some other servos type. May be metal gear could be better. Any suggestions?? Thanks ! :slight_smile: