How to measure air speed using Mpxv7002dp with ADS1115 16bit and Arduino UNO

Hello guys,

I am working on a project in which I need to measure air speed using a pitot tube with MPXV7002DP sensor with 16bit ADS1115 and Arduino UNO board.

But I don't know anything about coding since I am an Aerospace Engineer and coding is not something I am expert in.

If possible, can anyone help me with the code for the same please? Thank you.

Look at the transfer function in the datasheet. I think I have written a code for this exact sensor. I'll look for it.

I found it:

If you use the code I wrote, change the transfer function.

Also, the maximum measurable diff pressure is 0.3psi. That is around 2070 Pa. In any case, the maximum airspeed that you can measure if you consider ISA conditions and sea level is 58m/s that is around 112 knots. I don't know what you will do with this sensor. Just something to consider.

Also, I am not happy with the accuracy of the sensor. All depends on what you need it for. If you want a good sensor, I would advise the Honeywell HSC. I did some wind tunnel testing with it and I am positively surprised at the results. There was a difference of less than 1 Pa to expensive 10'000 dollar sensors.

Is this the code? I have MPXV7002DP data sheet with me here and I see the transfer function in it.

*/

#include “Arduino.h”
#include “SpeedPressure.h”

Pressure::Pressure(int pin){
pinMode(pin,INPUT);
_pin = pin;
}

int Pressure::Init(){
ref_pressure = analogRead(_pin);
for (int i=1;i<=200;i++)
{
ref_pressure = (analogRead(_pin))0.25 + ref_pressure0.75;
delay(20);
}
return ref_pressure;
}

int Pressure::GetAirSpeed(){
int air_pressure = 0;
for (int i = 0; i < 8; i++)
air_pressure += analogRead (_pin);
air_pressure >>= 3;
if (air_pressure < ref_pressure)
air_pressure = ref_pressure;

pitotpressure = 5000.0f * ((air_pressure - ref_pressure) / 1024.0f) + PRESSURE_SEA_LEVEL; // differential pressure in Pa, 1 V/kPa, max 3920 Pa