How to program limit switch to enable motor?

Hi guys, how are you? Well, I am here because I have a robot to hand at the end of the month.

The idea it's a car robot, with 2 motors for movement and 2 motors for gun. The motors for movement are ok, are working.

But

The motors for guns should be actived when a limit switch, connected on Arduino on pin A2 is pressed, and, I don't know how to do it.

The guns must remain 15 seconds activated and after that do not activate for 15 seconds.

The image below is just a representation, as we are using a shielded engine plugged into the arduino...

Here's a video of how robots should work:

OBS: The motors for guns are "M3 and M4".

I'm a newbie in Arduino it's my first project, so I appreciate any help. Please, give me a light... Thank you so much.

Prog_M_02b_PullV01.ino (5.47 KB)

Google "arduino switch" or "arduino button" for tutorials.

As for timing, study the Blink without delay example.

@douglb just curious - why are you using the analog pins? did you use up all your digital pins?

Your guns can be in three states:
Waiting for the button to be pressed.
Firing (for 15 seconds)
Locked out (for 15 seconds)

enum state {WAITING, FIRING, LOCKED_OUT} GunState = WAITING;

//  Inside loop() somewhere
  switch (GunState)
  {
  case WAITING:
    if (digitalRead(GunTriggerPin) == LOW)
    {
      TimerStart = millis();
      digitalWrite(GunPin, HIGH);  // Start the gun
      GunState = FIRING;
    }
    break;

case FIRING:
    if (millis() - TimerStart >= 15000)
    {
      TimerStart = millis();
      digitalWrite(GunPin, LOW);  // Stop the gun
      GunState = LOCKED_OUT;
    }
    break;

case LOCKED_OUT:
    if (millis() - TimerStart >= 15000)
    {
      GunState = WAITING;
    }
    break;
  }

Thank you guys, I'll try these suggestions... and about the analogic pin, I don't know why,

my teacher saw the project and said to use A2, but from what I saw, it also works as digital, no?

douglb: